Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women’s Suffrage March in Washington D.C., March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta was incorporated in 1930.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. A sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women, the Sorority currently has over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas and the Republic of Korea.


The Lansing Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered in 1960 due to the efforts of twelve dynamic sorors:

  • Wilbert Atwood
  • Hortense Canady
  • Audrey Cross
  • Shirley Davis
  • Yvonne Duncan
  • Helen Gentry
  • Opal Isabell
  • Phoebe Layton
  • Margaret Lewis
  • Callie Plummer
  • Helen Pointer
  • Yvonne Simms.

Lansing Alumnae is small in size and large in stature as demonstrated by the never ending drive to mentor young ladies in the greater Lansing Area and to provide scholarships to area youth.

These scholarships often are the last lynch pin needed to round out the financial aid for deserving students.

Lansing Alumnae is proud to say we have provided scholarships for over Fifty (50) years.